General Election Information

City elections are held every May. In odd numbered years, Places 2, 4, and 6 and the Mayor positions are up for election. In even numbered years, Places 1, 3 and 5 positions are up for election. The City Charter, Article V (PDF) sets out the provisions for filing for office.

The City contracts with the Kaufman County Elections Office to conduct our elections. For information on your voting precinct, please contact them at 972.932.0298. Click on "Kaufman County Elections Office" in the column on the right for a direct link to their website.

May 6, 2017 General Election for Mayor and Places 2, 4 and 6

Applications for a Place on the City of Forney, Texas General Election Ballot
PLEASE NOTE: You file the application in person with the City Secretary. The application is also available in the City Secretary's Office. 

A campaign filing packet will be given to each person that files and application. This packet will provide all the forms necessary, along with instructions for running your campaign. 

Required Notices

Notice of Deadline to File Applications for Place on the Ballot

Notice of General Election

Notice of Drawing for Places on the Ballot

Contact Us

  1. City Secretary
    101 E. MAIN ST. 
    FORNEY, TX 75126
    PH: 972.564.7302

    KAUFMAN, TX 75142
    PH: 972.932.0298

2017 Current Election Filings:

Mayor - Rick Wilson
Place 2 - Shaun Myers, Aaron Ross (Withdrawn), Cheryl Ballard
Place 4 - Kevin Moon, John Walker, Jimmy hanks
Place 6 - David Johnson

General Election Calendar

Calendar for Candidates.jpg